1. Welcome to Tacklebox.com.au

You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which gives you limited access to view the discussions and access some of our other features. Registration is simple, fast and absolutely free.

Worm production!

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fishing' started by Rod Bender, Apr 17, 2020.

1. Rod Bender

Rod Bender Well-Known Member

Aug 20, 2016
    Yep...I am trying to establish a worm farm to provide me with bait. I dug up a small area that I have been throwing vegie scraps, amongst other things, for a few months. It could do with a bit more organic material but I am going to make do with what I have here. It won't get too much sun which is good.
    20200417_125310.jpg
    It looks drier than it was as I threw some dirt on to level out some low spots. It is now covered in hessian and I have started to wet it up.

Should I throw some lawn clippings under the hessian? I hear conflicting thoughts in regards to the clippings generating a bit of heat. Am thinking of adding a few centimetres only and then just adding scraps.

When I return to work I am hoping to be able to dig some worms to throw in the bed. I assume it is a good idea to put some in there as they won't just appear?
    Cheers
    Team Bender
    Needs a logistics officer to keep up with efforts in the war against CC!

blair, diesel and kev209 like this.
  2. Madfisher

Madfisher Well-Known Member

Aug 14, 2016
    Mate dont put lawn clippings, unless its all ready very dried out. But leaves that fall off the trees in autumn are great. I use the lawn mower and catcher to pick them up. The mower sort of mulches them up which is great. Also bury any smallish redfin or carp in there as well, worms love them. Also you can buy mulch from bunnings which is very good, stops the soil drying out, and when its rots down provides them with food. We also have a worm farm, one you can buy but the worms atre a bit skinny for fishing, but are great to feed to my catfish and bass.